My Obligatory 40th Birthday Poem

Anne Fricke
4 min readFeb 25, 2020
Photo by Jessi Burton, taken the day after my 40th birthday celebration.

Days before the sun rose on my 40th birthday,

I wrote a poem

it was akin to a potential masterpiece,

a work of philosophical beauty and inspiration,

It began with the line

“In 10,000 years I will be a descendant of myself”

(There was wine involved)

Since the writing of that poem

I have not been able to take myself quite as seriously,

I have officially survived 4 decades,

eaten mushrooms for the first time

since becoming somebody’s mother

and then saw a candid photo of myself,

taken the day after, looking blissful

and as old as I’ve ever seen myself on paper

Thus began my next poetic venture

entitled “the beauty of aging”

but that’s as far as I got — because in reality,

when I look at the picture what I mostly see

is a crumpled forehead, gray hair and

a nose too big for my face

and I want to be inspirational and

--

--

Anne Fricke

author, poet, storyteller, podcaster, mother, wife, traveler, questioner annefricke.com